New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Seeking life partner and companion

Welcome to my profile.... To begin, a clarification about Naples... I own a condo in Naples. It’s an investment property that I rent year-round. My home, however, is in Canada, near Detroit, in a small city named Leamington. I am a Canadian.

Would I like to live in Naples? I’d like to live anywhere free of eastern Canadian winters. However, geography is secondary; the right woman comes first. If you are that woman, I will happily relocate - provided you do not reside in Alaska. (No offense to Alaskans.)

Me: Heart-centred, affectionate, playful, sensual, soulful, easy-going, well-spoken, well-mannered, spiritually oriented, a lover of beauty, emotionally available, a touch sentimental, masculine yet boyish, creative.

You: Smart, affectionate, feminine, fun-loving, and in search of a nurturing, committed, loving man. You share some of my interests (see below), and, at the same time, you bring your own interests to our relationship.

You have class: that blend of thoughtfulness, generosity and good manners that is the rarest of qualities in either gender. You do not fear love or deep intimacy. You have implicit trust in my integrity, just as I have implicit trust in yours. You recognize the need for space in our relationship, but you consciously nurture the bond that we share - and you know that I will do the same. Like me, you are committed to a life built on truth, kindness, compassion, honesty, openness, harmony, humour, and personal/spiritual growth.

My interests?... Laughter, the mystery and beauty of nature, art, architecture, historic sites, design, artisanal foods, poetry, beach-combing, meteor showers, good wine, good food (especially Vietnamese, Thai, Lebanese, East Indian, Japanese, Greek), stimulating conversation (nature, art, science, metaphysics, psychology, world affairs), living in "The Now", silence, wisdom literature (e.g., Zen, Taoism, mystic Christianity, the teachings of Eckhart Tolle, Adyashanti, etc.), evenings at home cooking, watching indie or foreign films, playing scrabble, holding hands, being emotionally intimate.

On the subject of film, I recently watched Martin Scorsese's 2016 masterpiece "Silence" - the story of 17th Century Jesuit priests who attempt to bring Christianity to Japan. It is beautiful, harrowing, haunting and thought-provoking - a deeply moving film. It is not easy viewing, but I recommend it highly.

And yes, travel...

Driving getaways are a favourite. New England is a destination of which I never tire - especially Vermont and New Hampshire... exploring downtowns, visiting craft studios, sampling the fare at bistros and brew pubs, hiking nature trails, picnicking on hilltops, unearthing local treasures and hidden gems. Love the West Coast too. I lived in British Columbia for years.

A few biographical details... I have spent my career in arts and culture, as a stage actor/director, a theatre professor in several Canadian universities, and a cultural manager for several Canadian cities. More recently, I have worked as a tourism planner and consultant, helping cities package and market their museums, galleries, festivals, heritage attractions, cuisine, etc., to culturally oriented travelers. Now, I am winding down my career. Will I stay in Canada, or move abroad? Who knows what life will bring?

About sex and sexuality... I have little interest in sex. It dropped away some years ago. Emotional and spiritual intimacy - and deep friendship - are far more important to me. Of course, I enjoy expressions of physical affection - embracing and holding hands - I’m just not that interested in sex anymore. Plus, I have had a prostatectomy, which complicates the entire matter. Sorry if this disappoints anybody who might otherwise be interested in me!

I enjoy indie, doc, and foreign film; gallery openings; the occasional live theatre outing (my first career was in the theatre, so I'm often too critical to enjoy myself); wisdom literature; books on human transformation; biographies, poetry (I love the mystic Persian poets Hafiz and Rumi, the Hindu poet Kabir, and the little-known contemporary English poet Colin Oliver); websites such as Buddha at the Gas Pump and SoundsTrue; and public broadcasting (PBS, NPR, BBC, CBC Radio). And I love the irreverent political comedy of John Oliver.

Musically, I like Nat King Cole, Sinatra, Ella, contemporary crooners, Latin jazz, Spanish guitar, Randy Newman, Joni Mitchell, Leonard Cohen, Bruce Cockburn, Paul Simon, the Beatles, Yo-Yo Ma, Glenn Gould playing Bach, Gregorian chant, and other music that stirs the spirit (e.g., Ennio Morricone's soundtrack to The Mission). I also appreciate silence - deep, pure silence - as much as music.

CONTACT ME IF...

* You are seeking a loving, committed relationship with a devoted man;

* You are seeking a life-long, intimate relationship - a relationship where we live and grow old together, caring for each other;

* You enjoy nature, art, beauty, film, poetry, travel, good food, conversation and laughter;

* You are exploring, or are intrigued by yoga, meditation, mindfulness, Buddhism, mystic Christianity, Taoism, Sufism, Jungian psychology, or other "awakening" studies or investigations of consciousness / spirituality / the inner life;

* Like most people, you have suffered, but your capacity for love is not diminished, nor do you doubt love's transformative magic;

* You will not enter into communication with me in which have a growing connection, and then - without explanation - simply vanish. Let's both act with courtesy and compassion. If one of us determines the connection isn't developing as desired, let's show enough respect for the other to say so. Let's not engage in callow "dating-site dumping". After all, your heart is not a plaything, and neither is mine.

Blessings, and good luck to all...

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Today

My Asexual Preferences

What would be your ideal first platonic date?A coffee shop
Would you describe yourself as bi-romantic or pan-romantic?neither

My Dancing Preferences

When did you start dancing?I haven't started yet
Do you go to dance classes?No, I don't
Do you attend competitions?No
Have you ever won a prize in a competition?Yes
How often do you dance?Almost never
Does your potential date have to be a dancer, too?No

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageCanadian
BuildSlim
Height5' 11" (180 cm)
Eye ColorBrown
Hair ColorBrown
Hair LengthShort
Facial HairBeard
Best featureEyes
Body ArtNone
My AttractivenessAttractive

Situation

Relationship StatusSingle
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsNo
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsAlone
Wants to RelocateYes
Have PetsCat
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Masters
SpecialtyArt / Music / Literature
Employment StatusRetired

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingLight / social drinker
Social behaviorFriendly
Friends describe asFriendly
In High School I was a(n)Brain
Sense of humorClever

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionSpiritualist
Attend religious servicesOnce a year